Premed 101 Forums

i love this place

Guest idreamofmeds

Guest idreamofmeds

Hi

I have been lurking around these boards for years (after I saw the article in CMAJ) but this is my first time posting. I just wanted to say that all the information I have recieved off these boards is priceless. Every question that has ever crossed my mind regarding the stressful road to med school has been answered, and then some. But now I need some good old fashioned encouragment. I know that this type of question has been answered countless times but can some one tell me what would be considered a "solid" GPA. I realize that each school has its cut offs that you have to meet (I have all that data down pat) I just want to know when all other factors are considered, what GPA would be sufficient to get into any school. (Eg- what do I need so I don't have to spend any more sleepless nights calculating prospective GPAs?)

Thanks

Sleepless in London :\

Guest Shahenshah

I am not sure if I am qualified to answer this as I still haven't got into medical school yet, but based on people I know who have got in, it seems if you have about 3.85 (OMSAS), you are pretty secure in the gpa side of things for most schools..also, every school use very different criterias in evaluating gpas (eg. western looks at best two years and so on)..obviously a 4.0 is the best, but honestly I think if you have a 3.85 and don't get in, then it probably was due to a lack of sufficient non-academic achievements..Now this doesn't mean if you have a 3.6 that you are screwed, it just means you might have to make up for it in the non-academic side..

Guest doctorfunk

I've heard that the omsas gpa calculation does not apply when one applies to an american medical school. Can someone comment on the amcas gpa calculation method? (i know that generally, one's gpa increases when converting from omsas to amcas)