Premed 101 Forums

Some Insight Please...

Guest Cloudancing

Guest Cloudancing

I'm a 1st year student at U of T. I am definately planning to apply to med school in my 3 or 4th year.:D I thought about majoring in French since that is one of the things I am most passionate about ( I have other things I like but French is/was tops). But I am practically failing this french course!:o It's already the second semester and my money is gone.:eek I am looking at a possible D- to C- in this class.

Then I thought about the fact that they probably will take off this horrible grade since I'm going to take 5 courses every year. I'm sure I can pass and leave with the D or the C if I work a little more. I guess I didn't think it would be so complicated.:\

Should I consider dropping it or just work harder? I'm doing poorly because I never do my homework, and I never participate in class ..it's my own fault . I have thought about this so much lately. I just need some one elses thoughts to clear my head of the clutter. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Guest nursingstudentKyle

if i were you i would drop the course before it leaves a nasty scar on your transcript. if you're passionate about french then i would continue with that, because from my experiences so far, it is much easier to succeed if your doing something you love. but before you do anything else, or make any impulsive decisions, FIRST...

do some self reflection. consider why exactly you are not motivated to do your homework and not participate in class, even though you know it's costing you marks. maybe you have interests elsewhere within the school that might be worth looking into. but if after you've become more self-aware about your academic career and have decided that you want to stick with it... then just dive right in again next semester and perform at your best.