Premed 101 Forums

babies or med school?

Guest MACbetty

Guest MACbetty

Happy Valentines to everyone,

A couple days ago, I read this thread about older applicants. I was inspired and encouraged by their stories—thanks to everyone for sharing your dreams with the rest of us. (I wanted to post this question in that thread but I can’t find it at the moment--sorry).

Anyway, I’m 33 and this is my first time applying to med school, although I’ve been thinking about it for about a decade. I’m married with no children (yet) and my husband is supporting me 100% percent in my decision to go back to school and pursue my life long dream of becoming a doctor.

I’m concerned, however, that my attending med school may jeopardize our future family. We both want to have kids, but not for another year or so (if I didn’t go to med school). On the other hand, if I go to med school then we will be pushing pregnancy and kids by at least 3 years (neither of us thinks it’s a good idea to have kids during med school). So that means that by the time we could start a family I will be 37 or older, doing a residency somewhere and my biological clock will be nearly dead!

My husband is not overly concerned and feels that it is more important for me to pursue my dream for now, and that we’ll have a family later. I'm thinking that if I don't get in this year, I will not reapply, but have kids instead. So, I was wondering:

1)Is there anyone else out there that is in the same position and has the same concerns as me? If so, how are you dealing with it? and 2) Has anyone been asked about this dilemma (between school or kids) during a med school interview, and if so what was your reply, and the reaction of the interviewer? and 3) Does anyone know if interviewers/med schools are overly concerned about women in their early thirties making a sacrifice to postpone a family while they pursue a medical career?

Much appreciated

MacBetty

Hi MACbetty,