Premed 101 Forums

Need Advice: Specialization or Major/minor

Guest hash

Hi,

I am a first year student in General Sci. at the University of Alberta. I've reached the point where I kinda have to pick whether or not I want to go the major/minor route or do something like a specialization or honours degree.

This is my predicament -

I would like to apply to med school at the end of my degree. In order to have a better chance of getting in, I know I'd need a competitive GPA. The specialization program that I'm looking into - molecular genetics - seems ridiculously hard. I've mapped out the courses I'd need to take, and I doubt I'd be able to pull off a competitive GPA with it.

My other option is to go the major/minor route and pick something in the bio. sci. as my major and econ (which I enjoy) as my minor. However, I'm afraid this would limit my options after the degree to just applying to professional school... because graduate school here looks down on a general degree.

Also, if I wanted to join the workforce directly after my undergrad, would a specialization in something like molecular genetics (vs. a general degree) give me an edge with employers? Or ... would the econ minor be looked upon positively by employers as a more 'well-rounded' degree.

I would rather find a job after my undergrad than going to grad school. (I'm not too keen on getting stuck in the world of academia forever!)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Guest Chieka

Where do I start? ;)

First off, many people think genetics is difficult, but I think that if you like that area of bio, go for it. As I've said before, it's often better to do something you're interested in. I graduated with a genetics degree last year, and yes, it was tough, but I obviously didn't do too bad, since so far, I'm faring well with the medical schools. :D