Premed 101 Forums

Is there any hope left?

Guest BBlues

Guest BBlues

This is my first time here, but I have had a chance to read much of the things you have

My first year was bad. I got lazy, I got tire, I hated school and that all that lead to a 2.16 gpa. This year, I tried harder (at least at the beginning) but each time I tried harder it seems as though I did worse. It might have been that whole "self fulfiling prophecy" thing. Although I was willing to work harder this year, I had lost a lot of confident in myself. That proved to be more detrimental then slacking off. No matter how much I study, I always did bad.This was horrible since I had taken two social science courses and I tend to excell in these courses; even they could not help me boost my gpa because I had messed them up. Now, at the end of the second year my gpa is 2.0. And I had also flunked one half course, chm247h.

I still do want to go to med school, there is no doubt about it. And I am willing to work harder next year. I have started taking summer school in order to do well in the necessary courses. I've talked to a lot of people and they have said to me that it is almost impossible to boost up your gpa after 1 bad year. Of course, I have managed to mess up 2. Realistically though, if I was to get a 4.0 the next two years, would it be possible for me to pursue med school? Some people have told me that Western Med School will only consider your best two years.

Assuming I stay an extra year or do a masters, would this help improve my chances at all?

I would appreciate any advice or suggetions you may have. Thank you.

Guest UofCMeds2005