Premed 101 Forums

In Need Of Some Advice ...

Hi, 

So I'm a forth year Canadian student at York and I'm just looking for a little advice on what to do with my situation...

My stats are as follows: 
First year: 2.86 
Second year: 2.65

Summer course: 3.3

Third year: 3.90
Summer course: 3.0
Forth year: 4.0 (so far it looks like this ... ) 

cGPA: ~3.52 

Taking pre-reqs (chem II, orgo I&II and physics in the summer and during my gap year) aiming for As in all classes 

As for my first and second year, I know they're god awful, but I do have my reasons which have to do with personal circumstances and will explain much of this in my application.  

My MCAT is pathetic, I tried to take it during the school year, complete mistake and I am now going to take it during the summer, I know I can do much much better and am actually looking forward to writing the new MCAT. 

I know some medical schools in the states like upward trends and I feel like that is kind of all I have going for me, but I've definitely made a lot of changes in my life and realized my mistakes and have worked to correct them. I think I've done a decent job at it so far ... but any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you in advance! 

1) Don't attempt the mcat prior to getting in your prereqs again. 

2) Don't take the MCAT while simultaneously attempting to carry 3 or more courses. (I recommend no courses while prepping for MCAT)

Sometimes when you start seeing good grades after a drought, you can get overconfident about your abilities. Try not doing too much at once. Focus on your courses, then focus on the MCAT and then lets see where you are. 

1) Don't attempt the mcat prior to getting in your prereqs again. 

2) Don't take the MCAT while simultaneously attempting to carry 3 or more courses. (I recommend no courses while prepping for MCAT)