Premed 101 Forums

Chance Me- Ntp Students

Hi All,

I've never used this forum before and I'm a little nervous.  I'm 27 and only started to think about medicine in the last year, mainly because I never I though it was an option for me without a science background. I'm wondering if you might be able to provide feedback about my chances- it would be so greatly appreciated.

In 2005 I entered university for a Commerce degree.  I was 17 with very little direction and no life experience.  I failed miserably (0.97 GPA just to give you a picture of how bad it really was) and dropped out of school.  I spent the next 2 years working as a professional model living in Canada, Europe and the States.  

At 20 I re entered university. Determined to study something I was really interested in, I started a classic liberal arts program. I graduated with a DegGPA of 3.72. I then completed a Master's in Religious Studies.

I worked for 10 years on and off in a Doctor's office part time while I was in school. I started as an administrator, then progressed to working on clinical trials, and now I take preliminary histories. I've remained working there because I love the interaction with patients. 

My main job (full time) is a relatively high level position in the university where I work in a religious studies research centre. 

I am currently taking science prereqs part time. I received an A- in chemistry and will complete organic and biology this summer where I expect similar grades. 

I do not have any publications, but will try and have my thesis published in the coming months. It was well received by members of the department at the time but is in no way related to medicine. Do publications make a huge difference?

I have some volunteering (president of my alumni chapter and a few similar things, but very little relating directly to medicine).

I would be eligible to apply for NTP as I am a quebec resident who wont have the physics pre reqs.