Premed 101 Forums

What Is The Breakdown Of "supplemental + Ec's" Category? (Need Advice)

Hello all!

First off, congratulations to all those accepted for the class of 2019 and good luck to those waitlisted! For the rejected applicants, myself included, don't give up hope and keep trying. Given that some of us won't get feedback from admissions until May/June, I thought that us unsuccessful applicants who plan to reapply could start a dialogue on why our application didn't hit the mark and what we plan to do to be more competitive for this next cycle. That's what I'm trying to do now by addressing what the weaker points of my applications were. This is my first time posting on this forum and if I've breached any of the policies, please let me know.

My score breakdown:

GPA & MCAT = 18/25

Supp/EC = 17/35

Interview = 28/40

For a total of 63/100, first time applying, NS resident.

For this next cycle I can't do much about my academics (this will change if I have to apply a 3rd time) and though I felt good coming out of my interview last time, there's clearly room for improvement. I have my interview prep plan laid out (generally, as it's still 7-8 months away) but to be honest, I had expected a higher score for the supplemental category. 

I thought my essay was quite strong. I took months to write it, poured my heart and soul in, and had lots of people review it, including medical students, a physician and friends who have their PhD in English. My impression of having such a low score is that the listed activities I put in employment, extra-curricular, medically-related activities and volunteering were not sufficient for this year's adcom to view me as competitive, which may have brought down my essay score and likely netted me 0/5 on the discretionary criteria. Or admissions just didn't "buy" my story.