Premed 101 Forums

How Important Is It That Ecs Be Medically-Related?

I'm a pure physics student at U of T who happens to have taken all the lifesci prereqs for most schools. I have grades that are competitive for medical school (3.9+). However, I'm not a traditional premed and didn't seriously consider this career until maybe a year ago.

So the problem is, I have a wide variety of ECs, with a strong background in community service (leadership positions in an established charity), etc. I also have research and publications... in particle physics. I have a variety of other experiences that I'm truly passionate about, which, I'm convinced, demonstrate the attribute clusters U of T looks for, for example. But none of them are, even in the slightest, related to medicine

When admissions looks at extracurriculars, how important is it that they demonstrate an interest in medicine, versus demonstrating the character values that they are looking for?

I'm a pure physics student at U of T who happens to have taken all the lifesci prereqs for most schools. I have grades that are competitive for medical school (3.9+). However, I'm not a traditional premed and didn't seriously consider this career until maybe a year ago.

So the problem is, I have a wide variety of ECs, with a strong background in community service (leadership positions in an established charity), etc. I also have research and publications... in particle physics. I have a variety of other experiences that I'm truly passionate about, which, I'm convinced, demonstrate the attribute clusters U of T looks for, for example. But none of them are, even in the slightest, related to medicine

When admissions looks at extracurriculars, how important is it that they demonstrate an interest in medicine, versus demonstrating the character values that they are looking for?