Premed 101 Forums

M.D/Phd

Guest sweetmembrane

Guest sweetmembrane

Hi,

I am doing a masters degree in science, and I was hoping to apply to medschool upon completion of my degree. My project is moving slowly, and I wont be able to complete my Masters in time for 2004 admission. I was thinking of completing a Phd, and then applying to medschool, or maybe apply to a M.D./Phd program. I don't think that my grades are competitive enough for an M.D./Phd, and also, I would not want to complete my M.D. in the same institution as my Phd. The only problem is that I want to complete my Phd in this institution. I would appreciate any advice you may have.

Thank you.

Guest therealcrackers

here's what I did: I was in the same circumstance as you are now, in 1995. I applied for the 1996 medicine admissions cycle (while working on my Master's at U of T), and got an interview. When things didn't pan out, and I didn't get accepted to the MD/PhD program at U of T, I wrote a transfer exam and got into the PhD program. At the end of that long rainbow, I got accepted into UWO Meds and finished my thesis just in time at U of T -- I actually graduated from U of T 1 year into medicine because of the timing. I was interested in U of T meds at the time I was in my programs, but I am very happy with where I am in medicine now.

My suggestions are as follows: 1) make sure everyone on your program advisory committee knows your long-term goals include both medicine and research. That will same you a few headaches because the deadlines for research cycles and medicine admission cycles run COMPLETELY independently of each other. Let them know your deadlines.

2) Get an accurate assessment this fall of your project status --- and decide whether you want to apply for 2004 admission or wait another year based on that. Having six months or so to work in advance of going to meds would be great, whether it's research, teaching, tech jobs, etc.