Premed 101 Forums

Nursing Student! Need Advise On Pre-Med

Hi, i am a current Practical nursing student at seneca college. During my clinical experience i have found a greater interest in diagnosis and medication. I am interested in going to med school. My GPA is 3.0 and i don't know what to take or where to take my undergrad.I was doing some research and found Royal crown college, and Biztech college that offer a pre-med program that gives you guaranteed accepted into certain (mostly over seas) med schools. I wanted to know if anyone has gone to these schools or what you think about this pathway? I also thought about doing my rn (BScN) in order to get my degree, however i would need to fit the required bio them organic them ext, into another 2 years of school thereafter. Just for general information my graduation date is December 2015 and ill have my run diploma, and i also have a 4 year old son but traveling for education is something i would love to do. 

The general consensus here is that going overseas for medicine is usually very risky and not recommended. The best thing would be to try to stay in Canada or the US (US you don't have a great chance at coming back to Canada for residency and even after there can be problems but it's doable).

From what you have written it sounds like your nursing training is at the college level right now. Is there a way for you to get your nursing degree in less time because of the training you already have?

I'm not sure how feasible it is to get a high enough GPA in nursing to get into med, so that is a problem. You could get a degree in anything really.

You might also want to consider whether you are interested in becoming a nurse practitioner or physician assistant rather than medicine. Both of these paths would also allow you to diagnose and prescribe which is your main interest anyways.

These paths aren't easy either, but depending on what your goals are they are definitely something to look into.