Premed 101 Forums

Pharmacy Student! Looking For Advice On Pre-Med.

Hi, I'm currently a second year pharmacy student at the University of Toronto, currently completed 5 years of undergrad studies so I'm 22.
My cGPA is ~3.80 (OMSAS) excluding summer courses.

During my studies, I've realized that pharmacists are quite limited in their role as a healthcare provider, and I would like to have more autonomy. Additionally, there are too many pharmacists in Canada at this moment,  and pharmacy school is not challenging enough (it is mostly memorization of drug use guidelines and everything can be studied by cramming), and also diagnosis seems more interesting and matches my analytical skills. 

So here is what I'm looking for advice on:

MCAT - Minimum time to study and what resources are best for the new MCAT test that came out?
Extra-curriculars : Currently, I have absolutely no extra-curriculars. What type of extra-curricular activites should I be doing and how many hours? How would I go about approaching hospitals to get clinical volunteer hours?
US or Canadian schools: Assuming a good MCAT score, how likely would I be able to get into a US or Canadian school?

Thank you.

Hey,

Congrats on getting into Pharmacy. I know that can be quite a challenge on its own. Here are my thoughts on your post but others may have a different opinion.