Premed 101 Forums

When To Write The Canadian Dat?

Hello everyone, 

I'd like to apologize if my question has been answered before, I did search the forums but I only found threads on the American DAT.

I'm a Canadian student and I'm going to start my 3rd undergraduate year in September (4 year program), and I am worried about the DAT exam. I plan on applying to Canadian as well as American dental schools, so I'm going to do the cDAT rather than the American DAT. 
My dilemma is that I do not know when to write the exam! US schools mention that "Score reports for candidates who took the November Canadian DAT exam are usually NOT received in time for consideration for that year's admission cycle."

In that case, would you suggest that I do the DAT during my third year (November/February)? 
If I do decide to write the November (2015) exam, I have 2.5 months left this summer to study before I go back to school, I'll still dedicate time to study for it during Sept & Oct. Is that enough time?
Also, do US schools require the carving section if I am doing the cDAT??

What would you all suggest? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

The Canadian DAT is held every Nov and Feb. You have plenty of time to study right now for the Nov one, plus if you write it in Nov, you are still elligible for all Canadian dental schools beginning in Sept of 2016. I personally never looked into American ones so I don't know what their deal is, but it may vary from school to school, although I heard that a lot of them start their application process super early, so the Nov one might not cut it. 

Regardless, it'll be a good idea to take it ASAP, and being that it's your first time, you can always just use it as a practice round in case the scores are not ideal. As for the carving section, different dental schools differ on that requirement (e.g. U of Alberta asks for it and U of Toronto doesn't), so look specifically at each school's admission requirements.