Premed 101 Forums

Extremely Stressed Out! Help Me With Some Answers

Hello everyone. 

So I have finished my 4th year of undergrad in bio science, my first 2 years i absolutely failed 90% of my courses due to a lot of family issues and eventually depression. ( I was honour student in high school with %98 on my diploma, volleyball captain of the team, leader of symphonic orchestra and very successful person, so after failing my university classes and family issues I was going through depression) and I was on special probation on second year but then I worked my butt off and I got GPA of 4/4 for the last 2 years and I am studying 1 more year to retake some F courses. However I have lots of volunteering. 2 years in hospital, 4 years of being a club vice-president with over 1000 members and so much more. So what's gonna happen next? should I give up already? is there any school that would just count your last 2 years of full studying and ignore your multiple Fs and Ws? My M-CAT score was pretty high so no problem with that either. Also great reference letters. But I honestly can't even sleep at nights. please answer me if you know anything about this case

While it is true that there are schools that look at 2 best / last years, this does not necessarily mean that they don't see (and possibly consider) your entire transcript. To some extent, seeing numerous failed classes might raise a red flag. I'm not sure if anyone here can tell you exactly how they would consider it, but I would be surprised if schools entirely disregarded this.