Premed 101 Forums

Advice On Choice Of Apartment Location In Montreal?

Hi everyone, 

I've been home-hunting in Montreal and have tried to map out where classes/labs/clerkship rotations might be to figure out the "ideal" location. But a lot of that has been based on guesswork (i.e. not sure exactly where clerkship rotations might land me). 

I am new to Montreal, and so would appreciate any tips/advice based on people who have lived in the area!

I'm currently considering several options, some of which include: 

Place #1 - on Avenue du Docteur-Penfield (Avenue du Docteur-Penfield & Chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges)

Place #2 - on Rue Prince Arthur O (Av du Parc & Rue Prince Arthur O) 

Place #3 - on Chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges (Ave du Docteur-Penfield & Chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges)

Basically for me the dilemma is to either live on that tremendous hill that McIntyre sits atop of, halfway, or at the base... as well as convenience to other life essentials (groceries, drug store, etc.) On a side note, I prefer walking to places than standing around waiting for a bus. I am used to walking up to 25 minutes or so daily in -25 degrees Celsius winter in Ontario (although I hear our winters are wimpy compared to Montreal's...) 

On a related note, does anyone know if bus passes are included in our tuition? I found something about them only being provided to students <26 years old, which seemed odd to me? 

Thanks for your help!!

See https://www.thechildren.com/getting-hospital/weve-moved-may-24-2015

The New MUHC Super Hospital is at the Glen, and therefore living near Vendome Metro (or even Villa Marie Metro - a further 10 minute walk to the Super Hospital, but close to Monkland Village and their shopping) is great, BUT this location is not a walk to classes, it is for clerkship. You may wish to live closer to McGill for now, get to know Montreal and consider moving for clerkship.