Premed 101 Forums

Working Part-Time During School Term

I would like to know some opinions and possible feedback from those who have worked part time during school terms. My situation is that I don't have well off parents that can pay for my school expenses and my bills etc. 

Usually Jobs that hire for part time what you working friday's late afternoon, Saturday and Sunday. 

I come from poverty and have lived off student loans during college, university and med school with a LOC.

I did not work part time as a student as I felt I needed to devote my time to academics and volunteering, which resulted in my acceptance to med school. I am now a resident and eventually will pay off my loans. Had I worked as you intend, I would not have had the grades/activities to get into med school.

I would also echo the above advice and recommend not working solely for money. There's OSAP/government provided financial assistance, scholarships and needs based bursaries that you can receive for schooling. The only situation where it would make sense to work is if you really enjoy the activity (hence it can be considered an EC that builds soft skills). Otherwise the opportunity cost (in terms of time spent, other activities forgone etc.) might not be worth it. Good luck! 

I worked part time in second and third year out of necessity - student loans usually max out at thousands less than I need. While it was a fantastic experience, it was also stressful at times but that was more to do with the nature of my job (government - employed as a student but did well beyond typical student duties) than it was the fact that I was working. I worked 15h/wk in second year and 20 in third, though I frequently exceeded that. This was in addition to volunteering and having a family to care for.

It had an effect on my grades, but I was still able to get into medicine so it wasn't that bad. :)

You need to have good time management skills, but it is certainly doable.