Premed 101 Forums

Applying To Only 2 Schools?

Hi everyone :)

So this coming cycle will be my first time applying. Unfortunately due to some family circumstances I can't afford to apply to as many school's as I would like. Just so I'm not putting any undue hardship on my family, I'll only be applying to Queen's, and Western.

I'll be applying with a 2YGPA/recent 2YGPA of 3.91

I have 2 years of research (chemistry), 190 hours of shadowing a cardiologist, 3 years of sports, volunteered in Sri Lanka (assembling bicycles for orphaned girls), I've volunteered in two hospitals to date (~200 hours), I did a semester in Switzerland where I did minor volunteering and research, I was a best buddies representative for 2 years. I'm also a professional photographer. I have an entrance scholarship award, Renaissance-Award (highest average in 4 disciplines, Math, Science, English, Social Sciences) from highschool, Ontario Scholar (from highschool), and Proficiency Award in Physics (highest average in the school) in Highschool, along with a few deans list certificates in University.

I was just wondering if it would be okay to just apply to these two schools. The circumstance within my family is a little complicated; and I don't want to make things worse by spending $733 applying all over Ontario (minus NOSM).

Thanks so much all :) xo

Have you ever heard the expression, "Expensive can be cheap. And cheap can be expensive."

You never know where lightning will strike. For sure, you won't get in where you don't apply. It would be a shame if the school that would have accepted you is the one that you chose not to apply to save a few dollars. When I say a few dollars, everything is relative, of course, but potentially you will lose your last year of earnings, say $300,000 for the sake of saving a little money.

It's your decision, it's your life.

Welcome to the Forum. 

Hi everyone :)