Premed 101 Forums

Getting Quebec Ip Status

mia1234

Hey Guys, so first time poster here.

I am an Ontario student who will be finishing up my undergrad in April 2015 and have been thinking about my options afterwards if I do not get admitted to a med school for the next year. So my big question is, is it worth it to move to Montreal for a year during my gap year to gain IP status and apply to mcgill as a Quebec resident. 

Just for general idea of my application if everything goes well this year:

cGPA: ~ 3.81 MCAT: 32 EC's: average few research positions, 2 years of EM shadowing, etc. 

Also if I do decide to make this big move, does anyone really have an idea of how hard it would be to get a decent job in mtl without french, though decent being a relative term I was hoping something along the lines of research assistant position maybe at a mcgill lab. 

Would you say my GPA is worth the move? I know the average tends to be around 3.8 but would I need stellar EC's to make the gamble on moving. If I do work for a year in Montreal, I do plan to have other commitments that I could add to my list of EC's. Essentially how keen do you think Mcgill on its extra curricular involvement when evaluating an applicant?