Premed 101 Forums

Gpa Repair

I'm a Canadian student entering my final year of undergraduate study. I've changed majors once throughout my undergrad and have had to take more time than have anticipated completing my undergraduate degree. I've spent the last two years taking four courses a semester as opposed to five. I've recently decided to pursue med school, for reasons. I had a GPA of 2.1 in my first year, however I've been on an upward trend from there, getting a 3.8 GPA last year. I'm currently sitting at a GPA of 3.2 overall, however I'll be finished school at the end of Fall. Because I don't feel like I'm adequately prepared or financially ready to handle this years cycle, I'm waiting it out and taking a year off from my studies. 

I'm wondering what other Canadian students have done to increase their chances of getting into medical school with a low GPA. Because I enjoy research, I've contemplated attending graduate school, but realistically do I even stand a chance? Have I completely and permanently ruined my chances of medical school?

I'm a Canadian student entering my final year of undergraduate study. I've changed majors once throughout my undergrad and have had to take more time than have anticipated completing my undergraduate degree. I've spent the last two years taking four courses a semester as opposed to five. I've recently decided to pursue med school, for reasons. I had a GPA of 2.1 in my first year, however I've been on an upward trend from there, getting a 3.8 GPA last year. I'm currently sitting at a GPA of 3.2 overall, however I'll be finished school at the end of Fall. Because I don't feel like I'm adequately prepared or financially ready to handle this years cycle, I'm waiting it out and taking a year off from my studies.