Premed 101 Forums

Looking Back: Your Biggest Mistakes In The Mmi?

To anybody who has previously done an MMI -- for better or worse -- I thought it would be helpful for all applicants if we shared our biggest mistakes in prior interviews, and what you would do differently next time. When sharing your experiences, please acknowledge the confidentiality statement, and keep your posts as general as possible. 

From my reflections at the University of Alberta MMIs:

My biggest mistake was a lack of confidence in the delivery of my answers, as well as overall poor interview skills. If I was a doctor proposing a dangerous treatment to a patient, I'd need to confidently ensure my patient this is the best course of action to gain his/her trust. I strongly believe my lack of style, rather than lack of substance, was a major contributor of my poor performance.

My second biggest mistake was showing a lack of contemplation. In the time I spent formulating my answer, I was fixated so purely on my perspective that I ignored all other views in my answer. Most, if not all, MMI questions are complex and any number of perspectives are correct; by ignoring other sides of the issue, I may have appeared cocky and unthoughtful to my interviewers.

My third biggest mistake was a lack of sincerity. The whole interview day, I didn't feel like myself and tried to portray myself as someone who I wasn't. This led to responses that weren't particularly sincere and sounded forced / rehearsed.

My third biggest mistake was a lack of sincerity. The whole interview day, I didn't feel like myself and tried to portray myself as someone who I wasn't. This led to responses that weren't particularly sincere and sounded forced / rehearsed.

I think it's funny how everyone frets over moulding themselves into what they think the admissions people want to see so they can stand out, and paradoxically it makes being genuine a sure way to stand out