Premed 101 Forums

Nursing To Md

Hello everyone! 

I'm currently in grade 12 and applying for undergraduate programs soon. I am kind of wary of applying to life sciences programs, because if medical school does not working out and no job prospects. I'm interested in applying for kinesiology or nursing. I know nursing can be subjective in marking and all but I feel as it is the best back up undergrad program for me (or kin as I am really interested in it)

My question is what schools am I able to apply to with a nursing degree (because of the clinical and pass/fail classes)

I have emailed some med schools expressing my concern and from what I have gathered, I think McMaster and Queens are my realistic options. If you know anymore schools, that would be helpful, or if you can give me more information on this process and RN TO MD route.

P.S

Sorry didn't know which section to post in! I assume this is the correct one. 

Im a third year nursing student and I cannot speak for all nursing programs, but pretty much all of my classmates have managed to get great grades. Its definitely a difficult program but It doesn't seem like it has the 'low gpa' reputation most people think. This could be just for my particular program though… 

I also suggest not doing nursing. You could eventually go into medicine after nursing but it would be a much longer road. If you read through the forums and speak to some of us old timers, you will see that many people do not get in on their first attempt, sometimes not even the second. Lots of people are now redoing undergrads etc.

If you are aiming for med. I would suggest doing everything you can to maximize your chances of getting in after the four year undergrad. If you don't get in (and chances are high you won't because it is competitive) then you can always go back and do nursing if you are happy with that as a backup.

Kin can also open doors to applying to professional allied health schools (OT/PT etc).