Premed 101 Forums

Car Financing?

Dear wonderful people,

How does one pay off a car on a LOC? My parents can't help finance it at all, but I will desperately need a car in clerkship as everyone says, and this is in just a few months.

Did people lease? Buy second hand and put a lump debt on LOC? Finance a new car? I want to do rural medicine so I'll be doings tons of country driving and want a safe car.

Thanks for any advice!

If you're not making money at all and everything is going on your LOC, then my advice would go with a good used car (~5k). It depends on where you're from but here in Vancouver you can get a pretty decent car for that much (I have a lot of experience  :)). 

My thinking is, if you finance a car and your payments are coming out of the LOC, then you're paying interest on the car, then interest on the payments for a depreciating asset. Not fun. I don't know that much about leasing, but I've pretty much figured out it's for people who can write off their car expenses. Hope that helps a bit!

Dear wonderful people,

How does one pay off a car on a LOC? My parents can't help finance it at all, but I will desperately need a car in clerkship as everyone says, and this is in just a few months.

Did people lease? Buy second hand and put a lump debt on LOC? Finance a new car? I want to do rural medicine so I'll be doings tons of country driving and want a safe car.

Thanks for any advice!

If you want a safe car in Canada in Winter for a reasonable price, Subaru is the answer.

I will not buy or lease a new car from a dealer using LoC, since a new car's depreciation for the first 3 years is almost 50% (the all-in after-tax is around $30K for a new reliable small/middle size car, but same model 3-years used one is around $15K.). I'll buy or take over a used car from someone I know to lower my risk.