Premed 101 Forums

Mature / Non Trad

This has been very resourceful and have been trying to find those in the same boat as me.

I completed my BSc in Physiotherapy in 1999 internationally. I have been working towards my MCAT from last year.

My GPA (as per WES) is ~3.3

Question: are my grades / GPA too old to be considered for med school application? Do I have to do another degree to be 'up to date' with my studies? I have all the pre reqs: Physics, Chemistry, Bio (high school), Anat, Physiology, Psych, Socio, Neuro & Cardio  (BSc) however will they be accepted since i did all of this years ago?

Can I apply right now with the past grades / studies or would it be mandatory that I do another degree to bring my studies to a more recent date?

Thanks all for the help.

http://fhs.mcmaster.ca/mdprog/academic_requirements.html

http://fhs.mcmaster.ca/mdprog/credentialling_grades.html

I haven't come across a situation where someones grades/GPA were "too old" to be considered and I had a friend who applied (and was accepted) based on a degree completed ~16 years before. That being said I am a little dated on my admissions policies but a quick look at McMaster shows that they do not have any restrictions indicated wrt when courses were completed.

I normally don't like to simply direct people to contact the schools they wish to apply too but I think in this situation there are just too many extenuating circumstances to give you a solid answer (age of classes, international, etc). Appologies and good luck.