Premed 101 Forums

High School Student Looking For Advice

This post is fairly lengthy, be forewarned.

I'm currently an Ontario high school student planning on medicine as my future career. I am in grade 11 but only have 16 credits because I had to take the previous semester off, due to personal health issues.  I'll have to take an extra semester to get all the credits I need. I have a health issue that requires me to have weekly visits an hour away from home at Mac. The specific clinic is only available during the day for appointments, so I miss pretty much a half-full day of school every week.  I'm looking into trying to find an adult(16+) clinic that has later appointments so that I can miss less or no school.

Currently I am doing a specialized program that is only half days,and even then attendance isn't mandatory, which is working well.This semester I'm knocking off credits that are very textbook based and can be self-taught(grade 11 and 12 religion, parenting, and civics/careers). I can't do sciences self-taught without labs. I did that with 3U bio and got 71 in the class with 46 on the exam. I have a very poor grasp of those concepts, which makes me wonder if I should retake the course, just so I actually understand 3U concepts and can get good grades in 4U.. Opinions?  I am very confident that in a healthy state of mind and body I could get at LEAST 90, more likely 95 in bio.Keep in mind that I was very sick near the end of the semester, and when I wrote my exam. I was admitted to hospital 3 weeks later, very close to dying. Another question: should I take physics? Will it help me in any way- either short term for the grade 12 math or longer term for undergrad or med? Would taking 3U and 4U humanities courses be beneficial?