Premed 101 Forums

What Kind Of Patients Do You Meet As Dentists?

i'm an OMFS resident, in the middle of my residency, at the moment.

- it can be very rewarding to remove a tooth and have the patient be amazed at how painless the entire process was. They quickly become very thankful with the knowledge that they will no longer be in pain. 
- sedation is a great tool we offer patients, and it really puts patients at ease. patients who would have otherwise been sweating through a procedure and grasping the dental chair with dear life.

I don't like complaining because I mostly like what I do but....

- I get irked by patients who say they were never told that a tooth needed a RCT, and present 3 years later with an abscess or a broken down, non-restorable tooth.

- I get frustrated by patients who feel like they know what treatment they need and don't keep an open mind. Sometimes people will come in saying the need a tooth taken out - when in reality they may only need a filling. These patients think that "fillings don't work" because all of his/her fillings have fallen out, or have had recurrent decay.

- it bothers me sometimes that people go years without getting cleanings or seeing a dentist, sometimes decades, and then they come with their teeth in shambles, expecting a denture the same day we take out all their teeth. 

- it is very frustrating when we bend over backwards for patients, sometimes give free treatment, and do so much legwork to make sure a procedure is ready to go to the OR, and then for the patient not to show on the day of surgery and ask to be scheduled for next week for a silly reason. In NY we have a program where patients with HIV/AIDS get ideal dental treatment. We often do full mouth rehabilitation with 8+ implants, and these patients are notorious for not showing up, or cancelling at the last minute. I guess when you are given something free - you are less likely to value it? Besides, they know they can get it free next week anyways?