Premed 101 Forums

Refused Post-Interview... Applying Again

Hi everyone!

I applied to McGill this year and was refused post-interview. It's my first time applying. My mom, seeing how devastated I was, started looking for other jobs I could get with my biomed degree. She has a lot of faith in me and believes in me of course, but is just doing this to calm my nerves. I have heard countless stories of people getting in after 2, 3, or more attempts and I heard of, as well as met, many people that it wasn't their first time being interviewed. I would really like to get some more stats to get my thoughts straight and also to explain to my mom.

So please provide any info you have...

1) Those who reapplied and got another interview, was your CV and GPA basically the same?

2) give any insight on your personal story or story of someone you knew who got rejected post-interview.

P.s. I had a meeting with the admissions office... I understand and realize now why I was rejected (can PM me if interested!), so I'm still hopeful for next year.

P.s.s. Congrats to all those accepted this year very proud of you all! Lots of love :wub:

(PM me preferably, or reply here)

Having received an interview, you are qualified! Qualified candidates are rejected all the time, it is routine. It is a numbers game, luck is also involved and the norm is for applicants to apply an average of 3X before achieving success; some get in on the first attempt, and others apply more than 3 times, members of this forum have succeeded after 7 or 8 application cycles.

The key is persistence. Those who are persistent by applying year after year get in.

If your CV and Narratives were great, than you need to examine your performance at the MMI.

Do something you enjoy and find useful and reapply next year.