Premed 101 Forums

Undergrad - Guelph Vs Mac

Hello, I am a high school student looking to get into a good pre-med program - one that will put me in the environment to exert myself and produce a high gpa. In other words, which program is better for med school hopefuls?

I didn't so too well first semester, having no motivation to study at all and ended up getting very low 80s. I started actually studying in the second semester and all of my courses are in the mid to high 90s. However due to my first semester marks I couldn't really get into programs like Mac health science or Western med sci. Instead, I got into *Mac life sci* and *Guelph biological sci*. I can't seem to make a decision at all, I heard it is much easier to achieve a higher gpa in Guelph tho, is that true? And "prestige" doesn't matter, right?

Prestige is less than useless.

Speaking from experience, excellent time & stress management skills together with good study skills, knowing your priorities, avoiding distractions, being motivated always, thereby keeping your eye on the goal and a strong work ethic treating your academics professionally is absolutely required (combined with ECs/volunteering demonstrating altruism and CanMEDS competencies).

Taking a program you are passionate about will result in higher grades. You want to live with no regrets.   

Hello, I am a high school student looking to get into a good pre-med program - one that will put me in the environment to exert myself and produce a high gpa. In other words, which program is better for med school hopefuls?