Premed 101 Forums

Non-Trad Becoming Competitive For Sub-Specialty Sx

Hello all,

I am a medical student in Ontario (just finished first year) who has found an enormous passion for neurosurgery. I have spent many days in the OR (as many as an eager first year student can spend) shadowing different types of surgeons and have found a really strong connection with neurosurgery. I entered med school as a (very) non-trad student, and was always set on becoming a family physician. Over the course of the year, through both personal and professional experiences, I have done a great deal of realistic soul searching (with eyes wide open to lifestyle and career prospect challenges) and have decided that surgery - specifically neurosurgery - is something I would like to pursue as a career.

Partially full disclosure: I attend a 'newer' medical school in Ontario,  where opportunities for research, specifically in neurosurgery, are not as 'robust' shall we say, as they may be in other places.

Any perspectives on the following would be incredibly welcome:

1) how important is research in pursuing a neurosurgery residency?

2) does it all really come down to 4th year electives?

3) would spending a good deal of time in the OR in observerships during second year be helpful to these applications?

4) would writing STEP 1 be a good decision? 

Thank you!!

I am not aware of neurosurgery per se and how important research may or may not be. Step 1 is not relevant. Observerships can be helpful if they result in a meaningful LOR, e.g., you also do electives with the same people. It comes down to electives, evaluations, LORs and lots of face time in my view.