Premed 101 Forums

Current U Of T Ot Student Willing To Answer Any Questions :)

Hi everyone,

Hope everybody got good news on admissions day! I know the wait for results is nervewracking and deciding where to go (if you were lucky and got into more than one program) can also be difficult. I'm currently a student in the first year of the OT program at U of T and if anyone has any questions about the program, I'd be happy to answer. Also an FYI: I don't come from a science background, so if any non-traditional applicants have any questions/worries (I know that I did last year), I can definitely tell you more about what it's like to enter the program :) Congratulations to everyone that got into OT - the competition is always tough. And to those that didn't - hang in there. I know amazingly smart and capable people currently in my program that applied to it in previous cycles and did not get in, but are now thriving!

Thank you so much for doing this! Is there anything you wish you had known going into the program? Any general advice for someone entering the program? Did you participate in OT Welcome Week and is it a good way to meet people? Also how did you find the workload compared to undergrad?

Sorry for all the questions... definitely don't have to answer them all :)

Thank you so much for doing this! Is there anything you wish you had known going into the program? Any general advice for someone entering the program? Did you participate in OT Welcome Week and is it a good way to meet people? Also how did you find the workload compared to undergrad?

Sorry for all the questions... definitely don't have to answer them all :)

No problem! I know I had so many questions going into my first year, and I unfortunately missed most of the open house/welcome day that the department has in May (due to the highway being blocked off/traffic) and didn't get the chance to ask them. So, to answer your questions: