Premed 101 Forums

Confused And Feeling Shitty

lndale

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a nursing student going into 3rd year. My GPA for 2nd year is a 3.45 (didn't include first year as it wouldn't count for UofC med anyways..) 

My story is that out of uni I had a 92% average without studying apart for my physics diploma. I applied for neurosci and didn't get in, so I chose to pursue nursing as my second choice. My dad (who comes from a family of nurses) insisted that I go into nursing because that way I would have a back up plan if med didn't work out. Ever since I entered uni, I've had the goal of pursuing medicine. 

However, now that I'm going into 3rd year with an extremely low GPA, I feel so lost and confused. Nursing at my school is very  difficult (a transfer from biochem who had a 3.8 GPA dropped to a 3.0 in a year, he also only went into nursing to boost his GPA for med school applications) and often times I feel it is harder for me to excel in my classes due to a lack of interest in nursing as it was never my goal to become a nurse. 

Over the past couple of months I have seriously questioned my motives for my career choices. I honestly love human anatomy, as well as my pharmacology courses. However, after realizing that my GPA will most likely stay at a 3.45, I quickly searched for other career paths such as dentistry and pharmacy. I realized that a big factor in my career goals was prestige. I do like nursing, but as it was never my goal to become one I looked into careers that would have higher incomes. After considering the options, I realized that nursing is the second best thing I could be doing, in terms of career satisfaction for me.