Premed 101 Forums

Cars Cutt-Off

Hello everyone!

I am new to the McMaster thread, so I'm not too familiar with the schools requirements.  Is there a CARS cutoff?  I read online that the minimum to apply is 123, but other schools usually select a higher cutoff based on the applicant pool.

I ask because my score is awful -_- (126) 

Much thanks!

Hey,

Yes there is a CARS cutoff, it is 123 like you said, however a higher CARS will give you a better chance of getting an interview/getting accepted post interview. They weigh your CARS using a selection formula which they are pretty upfront about.

The formulas are as follows:

• Pre-interview
    • 32% Undergraduate Grade Point Average
    • 32% MCAT Verbal Reasoning OR Critical Analysis and Reasoning Score
    • 32% CASPer Score
    • 4% Graduate degree bonus (1% Master's/4% PhD)
  • Post-Interview
    • 70% Multiple Mini Interview Score
    • 15% Undergraduate Grade Point Average
    • 15% MCAT Verbal Reasoning OR Critical Analysis and Reasoning Score

So, the higher your CARS the better looking application you will look like you have. If you have a high GPA and do well on CASPER, you can definitely get an interview. If you ace your interview you can get in.

Take a look at the previous Interview Stats and Acceptance Stats threads. It can give you an idea of what other people had with regards to stats and how some overcome low CARS scores.

Unfortunately, most people have a higher score than 126, but like I said, if you can increase your score through the other parts of the formula you have a chance.

Hey guys, just need an opinion on my chances. My cgpa is a 3.77 and my CARS score is a 128, if I performed well on Casper would i still have a decent shot at an interview. The thing that has me concerned is that Casper has the most vague scoring criteria of the 3, and I really won't know what "doing well" will be on the Casper.