Premed 101 Forums

Mature Student - Studying Mcats While Working Full-Time

McT123

Hi there,

Is anyone on this forum who applied to medical school as a mature student who can offer advice about studying for the MCATs? I'm a postdoctoral fellow working in the area of research that I would like to do clinical work in (after medical school). I have a family that I support, so I cannot take 4 months off and move home with my parents to study for the MCATs! I also work full-time, but flexible hours. I'm currently studying the MCAT material one hour per day with the hopes that I can do the test next Summer (so in about 10-12 months). I find moving through the material is going quite slow, as I am relearning material that I knew 10 years ago! The material is also so basic that I find it hard to memorize (although the flashcards/practice tests help).

Has anyone switched fields later in life that has tips for studying MCAT material at a slower pace? I expect to stop teaching in the Fall so that I can study 2 hours a day, but that is likely the maximum amount of time that I can spare.

Thanks in advance for your time/suggestions.

I'm not in the exact same position but I am a Master's student and a TA and I am in the lab mon-fri 9am-6pm. So I do not have a ton of time to study for the MCAT. 

What I have found most useful is to use Khan Academy (free and associated with the AAMC) https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/mcat

they provide you with tons of videos for concepts you may not remember and they have practice passages. 

The new MCAT has moved away from pure memorization to more critical thinking skills. I have taken 3 full practice exams and found that I scored high simply because I knew how to read graphs and interpret research results- which are skills I picked in the lab. And since you have more lab experience, you'll probably find that as well.