Premed 101 Forums

What's Your Opinion About Going To Ireland?

End Poverty

I finished my undergrad at U of C in cellular/ molecular biology last year.  I graduated with a GPA of 3.45.  My GPA is on the low side, b/c I lost my mother in my third year of university, and bombed most of my uni classes that year.  My adjusted GPA is 3.79. I re-took my MCAT this Summer and scored a 521. I believe I have good extracurriculars. Last year, U of C gave me a very high EC score.   I also interviewed with 506 MCAT score at U of C. However, for some reason, I could not score high enough on my interview to be accepted post - interview. 

I am re- applying again but I am not sure about the outcome. As a result, I am thinking of going to Ireland. What is the prospect of getting back to Canada after finishing med school over there? What is the match rate? Where can I find objective info about Ireland?

Hi premedcal,

First of all, sorry about your loss. I don't know much about Ireland, and you should definitely take my opinion with a grain of salt as Im only a premed, but given your impressive MCAT score I would consider possibly applying to US schools that are known to accept Canadians. The down side would obviously be the costs of attending a US school.

The annual match rate for all IMGs pursuing Canadian residencies is low. The most recent figure is approximately 21%. Of this successful 21%, about two-thirds are CEAs (Canadians educated abroad), and one-third are non-Canadian IMGs. This means that regardless of where you go to medical school outside of Canada, the odds will not be in your favor to return. Even if you attend a US medical school, your chances of matching will still be higher in the NRMP compared to CaRMS.

From what I know, the anecdotal match rate sits around 50-60% to Canada and 10-20% to the US. I get this data from self collected data from Irish medical students who document what happens to their graduates.