Premed 101 Forums

If I'm Burnt Out In Undergrad, Should I Even Be Thinking About Med School?

mew

I'm in my 4th year of undergrad and I'm feeling so demoralized and burnt out. I have some complicated life circumstances that put a heavy load on my shoulders and I'm constantly feeling wrung out and overwhelmed, especially when I add school stress into the mix. Recently I've been really freaking out about how difficult medical school would be (if I ever got in) and the thought of carrying WORSE stress for the rest of my life is giving me anxiety attacks, like everything is futile and I'll never escape it. But at the same time I have no idea what else I should be doing. Has anyone been through this before? I tried to see a counsellor but there's a 5 week wait at my school.

I'm in my 4th year of undergrad and I'm feeling so demoralized and burnt out. I have some complicated life circumstances that put a heavy load on my shoulders and I'm constantly feeling wrung out and overwhelmed, especially when I add school stress into the mix. Recently I've been really freaking out about how difficult medical school would be (if I ever got in) and the thought of carrying WORSE stress for the rest of my life is giving me anxiety attacks, like everything is futile and I'll never escape it. But at the same time I have no idea what else I should be doing. Has anyone been through this before? I tried to see a counsellor but there's a 5 week wait at my school.

You'd hardly be the only 4th year undergrad to experience burnout, especially if there are other things going on in life besides school contributing to stress. Going to see a counselor is a good idea. If your school has other resources for stress-management, look into taking advantage of those too. If you feel like your anxieties are becoming overwhelming, particularly if your anxiety attacks are interfering with your day-to-day life, go see a physician.