Premed 101 Forums

-

BernieMac

I've heard of people using Law, Dentistry, Physiotherapy etc as backups for med school. As far as i know, I don't think (emphasis on think) adcoms care. Take what I say with a grain of salt though because I'm not familiar with the Med school process. 

However, getting high marks in Law school, Dentistry , physiotherapy is probably really tough. So if med schools look at those marks it might be hard to maintain a competitive GPA 

Or, I could get into law school and love it, continue with it, and end up with a solid job as a lawyer. 

I would look into this more, as I've heard that the job market for lawyers isn't that great due to saturation. But then again, that's like every job nowadays. 

I'm in 4th year UG and I already applied to 2 medical school this year (my second cycle- 0/1 interviews last year as 3rd year UG.) I realize that competition is tough and I am ready to apply again and again after to get in as it is my dream. I am in a typical biology UG and I have never though of a backup because I was ignorant when I started UG thinking I would surely just get in after my second attempt. That is not certain anymore so I need a backup. I don't like research at all so I don't want to do a masters in science. I also don't want to get a lab tech job while I reapply. Over the last couple of days a crazy idea emerged to me. I could apply to law school. I looked at the requirements and my GPA and ECs are what they are looking for and more. All that is left is the LSAT which I can write in December for admission for next fall. I have taken the MCAT so I can review for the LSAT from now until then and write it and hopefully get a good score. I still have 3 weeks until the law applications are due so I can work on them and submit in time. I can use the same people who wrote my references for medical school....assuming this crazy-last-minute idea works out and I get into law school....and not medical school I will go to law school and con