Premed 101 Forums

How Important Is Gpa In Dental School?

I'm not thinking of specializing and I just want to graduate and work as a general dentist.

I'm a first yr at Uoft dent and I'm just curious -- how significantly would it impact my life as a dentist if I 'barely' pass all exams (very likely scenario)? Would anyone care about my marks when I apply for an associate position after I graduate? I'm probably going to be competent in clinic (I love socializing with patients too) but I am not very good at studying, relatively speaking.

I should also ask-- what is the passing grade at uoft? Is it 50% like undergrad?

Why would you want to limit yourself because you didn't want to put the effort in getting the grades. You've gotten this far into a professional school because of your determination and focus. You've developed study habits that are hard to shake off. Keep doing your thing and don't let your grades hold you back in the future. If you ever have a change of heart, you'll kick yourself for only "passing" dental school. 

Why would you want to limit yourself because you didn't want to put the effort in getting the grades. You've gotten this far into a professional school because of your determination and focus. You've developed study habits that are hard to shake off. Keep doing your thing and don't let your grades hold you back in the future. If you ever have a change of heart, you'll kick yourself for only "passing" dental school.