Premed 101 Forums

I started practicing around 2 weeks before my interview although I feel I've always performed relatively well at interviews in the past. Through teaching and mentorship related activities, I've had plenty of opportunity to refine communication skills. Grad school was also an excellent time to learn how to deliver a point in a clear and concise manner. Do you have experiences that lend themselves to improving communication skills? This may ultimately decide how much time you dedicate to preparing.

When it came down to preparing, I just went through the available material online and made sure, above all else, I had a good sense of timing. Realistically, there's no meaningful way to prepare for an MMI beyond familiarizing yourself with the formatting. I think it's good to have a good understanding of topics that are high yield in some schools (ex issues in our health care system) but having stock responses prepared also runs the risk of sounding formulaic.

Length of prep time varies by person. There's really no magic number. In my cycle there were students who started preparing the day they found out they got an interview and were still unsuccessful. Others had a week of prep and were successful. This of course is anecdotal so take it with a grain of salt.

I have applied this year and not sure when/how to practise for the MMI invite should I receive one...Interview invites come out early Feb with interviews happening a couple of weeks after...to those who received an interview in the past when did you start practising? Did you start practising before you knew you got the interview? And more importantly how should I prepare for a U of C MMI?? Thanks