Premed 101 Forums

Pros/cons For A Science Internship

blitz

For those of you who decided to do an internship after 3rd year, why did you do it and can you talk a little bit about your experience (good or bad, why?)

People who decided to not do an internship, what were your reasons against it?

What sort of effect does it have on an application to medical school?

• 3 weeks later...

I did an internship after my third year, and I can whole heartedly say it was the most important thing I did during my undergrad. Feel free to ask me any specific questions you have, but I will summarize how/why/where/when and some of the pros and cons I found during and after the internship.

An internship was not a requirement for my program (med sci), but I chose to do it because at that point I honestly didn't know what I wanted to do after I graduated. I was considering medical school, research, industry... but I had no clue.

I filled out a few applications and received an offer to work as a co-op student for 16 months in quality for research and department at a pretty huge pharmaceutical company. I really didn't know much about the pharmaceutical industry, but I decided to go for it (experience, money, delaying graduation - seemed like a win-win-win). However, when I started my internship, I knew pretty much right off the bat it was not something I wanted to do forever.  The job was very engineering focused, very technical, and interacting with engineers is somewhat different than interacting with normal people (lol). I spent a lot of my time there reviewing/generating documentation and staring at a computer screen. I know a lot of people who get internships find themselves doing something they never expected - but you have to learn to make the most of it.