Premed 101 Forums

I'm In Nursing But I'm Most Likely Contemplating Going To Medical School.

Bluemoon34

Hi all, I am in my third year of nursing in Ontario (prefer not to disclose university). When I first got accepted, I never considered going to medical school because I found nursing to be ideal for me. However as I go through each clinical placement, I realize that I like what a physician does.

My sister is a medical student in Ontario so I have a small glimpse of what being a "premed" student is like. However I learned that each medical school has specific prerequisites; for example, I believe U of Ottawa requires you to take a full course load of biology, organic chemistry. I have never taken these courses in my undergraduate and as you go through each year in my program, there is an increasing number of pass/fail course so you don't have a lot of opportunity to boost GPA. My GPA from the previous two years came up to 3.7 with a mixture of A and B. (is it bad to have a single B in each year?). 

Any suggestions? In the fourth year, all of the courses are pass/fail so I will need to take courses outside of nursing to boost my GPA if I wish.

Thank you very much!