Premed 101 Forums

Us Or Canada For Undergrad?

I'm currently in Grade 11 and I'm trying to decide if I should go to the US or stay in Canada for my undergrad.  Here's some background:

I'm a competitive softball player who competes at the national level.  I am being recruited by a handful of D3 schools in the US.  Playing for a D3 school allows me to continue playing a sport I love but still allows me to focus on my academics.  I hope to major in chemistry, biology or neuroscience.  I am a good student - All As except a couple of Bs (took Chem 11 and Pre-Calc 12 in my grade 10th year).  I'm taking the most challenging courses available to me.  The US schools I'm interested in include Liberal Arts Colleges as well as Universities.  

The LACs will give me the opportunity to work closely with my professors (most classes are small, averaging around 10 students per class), do research and even possibly publish.  The Universities I'm interested in are substantially larger where competition will be fiercer for research opportunities.  Getting published while attending a large university will also be lower.  I'm leaning towards attending an LAC versus a large university because of the small classes, the tight-knit community, the opportunity to work closely with professors and the ability to continue playing a sport I love.

My long term goal is to go to medical school in Canada.  Keeping that goal in mind, do you recommend that I attend an LAC in the US, or a large university in the US?  Or do you recommend that I stay in Canada and attend a large University here?  Assuming that all things being equal (including cost to attend), what would you do? ... and why?