Premed 101 Forums

Can Anyone Relate?

I'm in my first year of medical school and I'm very grateful for being here today. I've been noticing that I feel quite out of place in my class. I mean, I'm able to make friends, socialize, hang out with classmates, but I still get this constant feeling of being different, out of place, and having this need to validate myself all the time. And it's really bothering me. I come from quite a different background than "most" med students, or the typical med student. I come from a poor immigrant family from India, and lived and grew up in probably the most underprivileged area in town. My parents have no education but always emphasized the importance of school to me as a child. I grew up around immigrants, poor people, in a rough environment where hiphop and rap was our music, and my peers were always aspiring to become gangsters and some eventually became criminals. I'm sure you can envision what I'm talking about by now. Although I was always academically stronger than the people around me, and always aspired to get a great education and become a doctor, I still grew up in that environment, and my roots belong there; whether I like it or not. And that upbringing has influenced and shaped who I am today in some way whether I want it or not. And so being in a med class, I feel extremely different from everyone else. From the white dude who was born in the richest area in town, got the absolute best education, gets a luxurious vacation every summer, knows how to play 3 instruments, and his dad's a doctor. Or the girl whose parents are both doctors, and was able to go to several trips to third world countries to beef up her med application. I am not hating on these people. It's great and awesome how they were lucky to have these privileges in their life, and I hope I can offer the same to my children one day. All I'm saying is that it's so hard for me to relate to these students and be close to them and feel comfortable around them.