Premed 101 Forums

Need Some Perspective On My Gpa/extracurriculars

luckyduck24

I get this is kinda "what are my chances" but  I can't help it. I am in my 4th year of university in BC and I would love to get into UBC Med. haven't written my MCAT yet. I have gotten myself into a bit of a predicament. My grades are not very competitive but I do a lot outside of school. I don't know if it is enough to get me in (or at least an interview).

Grades first.

77% I usually get closer to 84% but my 3rd year was not good. I don't have a good upward trend. 

Work.

-Doctor's office as a scanner for 7 years

-Lifeguard 1.5 year

-Paramedic 2 years

-University office assistant 1 year

Volunteering

-Synchronized swimming coach 3 years and Judge 1 year

-Officer St John Ambulance 4 years

-Prevention of alcohol and risk-related trauma in youth (PARTY Program) Presenter 1 year

-Obligatory summer overseas trip building houses

-University Orientation volunteer 2 years

-Canada Winter games official and first aid attendant

I volunteer an average of 6-10 hours per week all year. 

Kinda hoping that it will be enough to get me in but I need some unbiased opinions from people who don't know me. Do your worst

I get this is kinda "what are my chances" but  I can't help it. I am in my 4th year of university in BC and I would love to get into UBC Med. haven't written my MCAT yet. I have gotten myself into a bit of a predicament. My grades are not very competitive but I do a lot outside of school. I don't know if it is enough to get me in (or at least an interview).

Grades first.

77% I usually get closer to 84% but my 3rd year was not good. I don't have a good upward trend. 

Work.

-Lifeguard 1.5 year

-Paramedic 2 years

Volunteering

-Prevention of alcohol and risk-related trauma in youth (PARTY Program) Presenter 1 year

Kinda hoping that it will be enough to get me in but I need some unbiased opinions from people who don't know me. Do your worst