Premed 101 Forums

Hi,

I'm in my 4th year at UofT and am about to graduate with a gpa that's not competitive for dentistry schools. I became interested in a career in dentistry during the end of my 3rd year but by that time it was really difficult to pull my gpa up :(. I've always wanted a career in health and I like hands on work, so dentistry works perfectly. The thing is, I dont know what to do at this point because my gpa (2.8) is going to prevent me from getting accepted anywhere. I don't want to give up and can't give up because my parents went through a lot for us to come to Canada and have put all their trust in us doing well. So, I have to find a way. 

For the moment, I'm considering doing a masters degree, but I dont know much about that path. Can I get a masters in any field, for example, in undergrad my highest courses were in Near and Middle Eastern history or would I have to get a masters in biology or similar to allow me to increase my science gpa? I'm also considering getting a second degree, however, I know this path is risky because even after 4 more years, there's a chance I might not get in. So, I'm considering getting a second degree that would leave me with good work options after graduating so if I dont get in after applying to dentistry schools then, I won't be out of work. 

Lastly, it would be more than amazing if someone would be willing to mentor me or provide guidance. Since I'd like to eventual go to UofT's dentistry school (fingers-crossed!!) it would be great if a UofT dentistry student can help out, but I'd definitely appreciate help from students in other dentistry schools as well!

Any help would be appreciated!!!

Thanks!!

Hi,