Premed 101 Forums

Information On Competency Based Medical Education (Cbme) At Queen's

Hello!

As many of you may know, Queen's is implementing Competence By Design (CBD - the Canadian CBME curriculum) on an accelerated timeline. All first year residents in July 2017, in all Queen’s programs, will be under CBD. 

By way of introduction, I am a member of the Resident Subcommittee on Competency Based Medical Education at Queen's. Part of our mandate is to disseminate information about the CBD program being implemented this upcoming year to final year medical students applying for residency this year. This information will also apply to those applying for Anesthesia and ENT, as Competence By Design is being introduced in those specialties across Canada. Many of you may see a similar e-mail in the next few weeks as we try to get this information out as broadly as possible.

This post will hopefully answer any questions you may have about CBME at Queen's. Before I start - if this e-mail and the links at the end don't answer your questions, you can e-mail cbme@queensu.ca to reach the CBME Resident subcommittee. I will monitor this post, as well, to hopefully clarify any misconceptions in the discussion. Furthermore, there will be many opportunities to ask questions on your interview day.  

*NOTE*: The following information is primarily for Royal College residency programs (ie. excluding Family Medicine), since Family Medicine transitioned to the triple C curriculum several years ago.  

1. What is CBME?

The bottom line: Residency will not change dramatically.

The perks: Incoming residents will have multiple tools available to them to enhance their residency education.