Premed 101 Forums

Matching To Psych

Heisencat

Hey guys,

I'm in second year of preclerkship and am seriously starting to consider psych for residency. I know that historically psych hasn't been a very competitive field to match into, but I was wondering how I could increase my chances of getting accepted anyway. I obviously plan on doing electives and such in psych in 4th year.

If anyone in psych (or particularly McGill psych) could share their experiences and how they made themselves competitive for a psych residency, that would be great! Any input is appreciated! 

I’d recommend going to the post-match talk for psych (at your own school/McGill) almost all medical student interest groups will have these soon after match results come out.

It’ll be a great opportunity to get feedback from students that have just gone through the process on how to make your application stronger and you can ask them about their experiences with various preceptors/residents, possible mentors, etc

I would suggest you participate in the Psyc Summer Institute, if you're a UofT student you will get an email about it. It's only for 1 week in the summer and you get to see various types of psyc practices and the lectures are quite interesting!

It's too bad they don't cover housing or offer any funding for OOP students.   Similar programs elsewhere offer funding/scholarships for students to attend. 

• 2 weeks later...

Just to bring this up again:

I am also just finishing up my second year and have decided I want Psych. With all of the unmatched people this year in CaRMS how unreasonable would it be to get into UofT Psych? My husband lives in Toronto and we have been doing long distance for the past two years and it SUCKS. 

Up to this point I had been gunning for a different competitive specialty. Lots of pubs, presentations and conferences in that. I also have won several big awards as a medical student in leadership, etc.