Premed 101 Forums

Advice For Mature Applicant W/ Poor Mcat & Gpa History

Hi everyone,

Let me start by saying that this is my first time posting on here but I have come on every once in awhile over the last few years out of curiosity. I've always been impressed at how knowledgeable you all are and also, for the most part, the thoughtfulness of everyone's responses. Anyway, onto my story...

My bio:

32 yo with a Hon BSc from the University of Toronto.
y1 - 3.27
y2 - 2.65
y3 - 3.44
y4 - 3.34
y5 (after graduating and returning as a "non-degree student") - 2.84. 
I took 8 courses as a non-degree student over a period of 5 semesters (spanning from 2007-2010). The first three courses were in the semester immediately after graduating and they were 2nd yr inorganic/physical chemistry, 2nd yr organic chemistry and 1st yr statistics (yes, the all-important med school pre-requisites). I did terrible on these three courses, failing one (organic chem). The other 5 courses were pre-requisites to get into graduate school and I got mostly As on those, granted I was typically taking them only 1 or 2 at a time. 

Cumulative undergrad GPA - 3.11

Went on to obtain my clinical doctorate at highly regarded university in the US. Graduate GPA was 3.95, received a couple of awards.

I've been working as a healthcare professional for about 3 years now. I have some volunteer experience and a bit of research experience as well (authorship on one paper in undergrad). 

MCATs
2006 - 11PS/8VR/10BS/R

2012 - 6PS/8VR/5BS/Q (Note: I literally didn't study at all. I only wanted to write the VR section and about 1 month of examkrackers passages was all I did to prep.)
2014 (May) - 9PS/10VR/10BS
2014 (Dec) - 9PS/10VR/10BS

I've applied twice to North American schools, in 2014 and in 2015. Zero interviews. 

For those wondering why I did so poorly in my post-bac or why I wrote the MCAT so many times: