Premed 101 Forums

No Prereqs, Upward Trend Gpa, Diverse But Limited Ec's, Help?

Hi everyone! 

I've read a lot of posts on here but this is my first time posting. Although I felt a lot of the responses on here were helpful, I feel like I need some specific feedback on my situation.

I'm an IP honours BA Psychology student. Due to a variety of factors, I really took a hit first year and managed to get a C in pretty much everything. I ended up getting most of my first year grades dropped because of its effects on my GPA. I also took a year off after my 3rd UG year. Regardless, here are my stats:

UG 1: 2.00

UG 2: 3.55

UG 3: 3.79

UG 4: 3.9

UG 5: ? (hopefully ~ 3.9)

only my UG 3-5 years would be considered a full course load (4/4.5 out of 5 credits) or just shy of a full course load, depending on the university. Unfortunately, the only prereqs I have are a full year of bio, but because I did these courses in my first year, I did terrible.  

On top of this, my EC's seem below average. Everyone on here seems to have pubs and a lot of research/healthcare experience. I have some interesting/quality EC's and come from a healthcare background, but other than completing my thesis next year, I don't have much else. 

Assuming I do really well on the MCAT, do I still have a shot? If my chances are low, what are the best ways to improve?

I was thinking of applying to a Msc program to add to my research experience, which would also give me a chance to strengthen my EC's during that time. There seems to be mixed reviews on whether or not this would be helpful. Would it be worth doing this considering my profile? Would I be better off taking a year to find volunteer/research positions on my own? 

I really don't know where to go from here. Any insight/suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks for the reply! But doesn't western require 30 credit hours? I'm taking 24 right now, and 27 in my final year. I don't think I meet that requirement.