Premed 101 Forums

Accelerated Nursing Program Q's

OntPremed

Hi all,

So I'm a current undergraduate student and was looking into doing an accelerated nursing program. I'm currently a second year and will be finishing my third year before applying. 

My GPA this year should be 3.8 (likely a bit higher), and next year should be higher, lets say 3.9 (much easier courses). I'll be finishing all Nursing prereq's in my third year, though I have a fair bit completed already. 

So my questions: Do all accelerated nursing programs look at your two most recent years for GPA calculation? 

Are there a fair number of accelerated nursing programs in Canada (preferably Ontario) that I would be competitive for?

What other aspects of an application are important, besides GPA and pre-reqs, in the application process?

ALSO, can one go on to do a Masters to be a PA after their BScN and after completing the recommended clinical hours (~1000) as a nurse? 

Sorry for the perhaps stupid questions; I really want to be a part of the healthcare field but don't think I want to invest 7+ years of schooling after undergrad to pursue medicine.

Thanks all!

[i am not the original account holder; borrowing my friends :)]

Although I may be stating the obvious, if you value the science, heavy decision-making and analytical side of healthcare, then medicine would be for you. With your grades, you would no doubt be competitive for Ontario and OOP schools. However, if for whatever reason you would like to do a BScN or PA, then by all means go for it. I would not suggest doing a BScN though, as at most you can save a year of school work. You can look into direct entry masters for nursing. 

You should have no problem applying for PA school if you have all the prereqs and the necessary GPA. 

For nursing, a quick google check could do the trick.

McGill has a decent nursing program for BSc holders. http://www.mcgill.ca/nursing/programs/msca-direct-entry

• 3 weeks later...