Premed 101 Forums

Radiology Vs. Ophthalmology - Life Style / Salary / Job Outlook

Hi all,

I am a first-year med student who, unfortunately, still hasn't decided what he wants to do. I have ruled out most of the specialties and I'm now down to Radiology Vs. Ophthalmology. Both have pros and cons but I'm leaning more towards Ophtho at this point as I really prefer to have my own private clinic in the long run as opposed to working in a hospital for the rest of my life. 

For me, life style and $ are very important factors and after reading bunch of threads about how Ophtho is becoming a pretty bad specialty (Salary going significantly down, no OR time, etc.) I am really concerned if I'm making the right decision to put all my focus on ophtho. I have heard that the salary in the first few years post-grad is 150-200k, and the only ones earning 400K+ are older high-volume surgeons (and no clinic time). I don't think I want to work so hard during medical school, spend 5 years of my life in residency, earn a relatively low in come for the first 5 years or so, etc. where nowadays family physicians are averaging 350k. 

I would appreciate if you guys have any insight about $ and life style of ophtho (nowadays) vs. radiology/internal medicine, etc. I'm not one of those people who wanted to become a surgeon since I was 5 so if lifestyle, $$$, job availability is bad for ophthalmologist, I prefer to find out sooner than later.

Thanks!

https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/Ophthalmology-e.pdf

I'm sure Rmorelan and others can comment about radiology, but there are advantages and disadvantages to Rads as well.  With advances in technology you can be scrolling through 50 fine abdominal CT cuts at 3 AM while being paged by 6 different services...that didn't seem too fun for me.  Though rad people are totally rad, smartest guys and gals I know.