Premed 101 Forums

When to start studying for the MCAT?

buddy2550

I personally studied for 2 - 2.5 months while holding a full-time job and thought it was sufficient. You have more than enough time between April - September. Make a study solid study schedule and stick to it (schedule in off days and you won't burn out). Your comfort with the material also makes a difference. I did a bio degree and barely had to study for the biological sciences section. 

I think you will be fine! 

^ suggestion to stick to a schedule with built in off days is a very good way to not burn out. But if you're really concerned about burn out, then it's also fine to write earlier in the summer and condense your studying a bit. Go with whatever you think will work best for you . 

I spent ~10 weeks studying, also while holding a full-time job. I could have studied the full May - Aug, but I was really concerned about burn out too and its potential to make me miserable when my teaching started up again in September. So I really focused on studying for those 10 weeks, and then I was incredibly happy to still have July - Aug to enjoy summer stuff. It's definitely doable. 

For me, trying to cram the MCAT in with other commitments (work, volunteering etc.) was really difficult. I couldn't find enough time to study. The second summer that I re-wrote in, I took a solid month off from work. It was absolutely necessary to do as many practice full lengths as I could and to properly be able to review them. Also, my content knowledge on chem/physics was quite weak, so I had to devote quite a bit of time to brush up on that.

If your content is relatively fresh, I would say 2 to 2.5 months is doable as you can focus on just doing practice tests and reviewing them. If your content knowledge is weaker, I would recommend at least 3 months. 

• 2 months later...

Assuming you are taking the MCAT in the end of July.